Scientific Advisory Board

CSI Singapore’s Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) comprises of experts coming from a multidisciplinary range of cancer research including basic and clinical studies. They support the Institute’s vision in becoming a premier cancer centre by providing recommendations and advice on the management, development and growth to the Board and Directors.



Dr. Gary D. Gilliland

President and Director
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Dr. Gilliland is Associate Member of the Broad Institute of Harvard and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Senior Attending Physician at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. He is also President and Director of Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center since 2014. His research interests are largely focused on unraveling the genetics of leukemia with the goal of developing new therapies that specifically target the consequences of these tumor-specific lesions.



Dr. Mariano Barbacid

Group Leader (Experimental Oncology Group)
Spanish National Cancer Research Center (CNIO)

Dr. Barbacid worked at the National Cancer Institute (USA) from 1974 until 1988. In 1988 he joined Bristol Myers-Squibb (Princeton, New Jersey) where he served as Vice President, Oncology Drug Discovery, from 1995 until 1998. That year he moved to Madrid (Spain) to found the Spanish National Cancer Research Center (CNIO), where he served as Director until 2011. His research currently focuses on the design of new animal models of cancer and on the identification and validation of molecular targets with potential therapeutic value.


Dr. Brenda Bass

Distinguished Professor & H.A and Edna Benning Presidential Endowed Chair
Department of Biochemistry, University of Utah

Dr. Brenda L. Bass is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Biochemistry at the University of Utah. She is known for her contributions in defining double-stranded RNA-mediated pathways, including the discovery of ADAR RNA editing enzymes, and models and experiments that established Dicer’s role in RNA silencing. She obtained a B.A. in chemistry from Colorado College in 1977, and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Colorado, Boulder, in 1985. She was a postdoctoral fellow at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center prior to joining the faculty of the University of Utah, School of Medicine in 1989.


Dr. C. Glenn Begley

Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Begley was formerly Vice President and Global Head of the Hematology and Oncology Research at Amgen Inc., with more than 10 years of experience in implementing strategic and co-ordination efforts. Before joining Amgen in 2002, Dr. Begley had over 20 years of clinical experience in medical oncology and hematology, with focus on translational clinical trials and regulation of hematopoietic cells.

Dr. Stan Kaye

Professor of Medical Oncology
Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust

Stan Kaye was Head of the Division of Clinical Studies at the Institute of Cancer Research, London until November 2013. He was also Head of the Drug Development Unit at Royal Marsden Hospital, one of the largest Phase I trials units in the world, and has long experience in leading on clinical trials in cancer. The Drug Development Unit has played a leading role in the early clinical evaluation of abiraterone, inhibitors of P13Kinase and HSP90, and in the development of PARP inhibitors.


Dr. David Livingston

Deputy Director
Dana Farber/Harvard Cancer Center

Dr. Livingston is Chief of the Charles A. Dana Division of Human Cancer Genetics and the Emil Frei Professor of Genetics and Medicine at Harvard Medical School. From 1996 to 2000, he served as Chairman of the Executive Committee for Research at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, leading the senior faculty group that oversees all aspects of the Institute’s research program, and reassumed that post in 2005. Dr. Livingston’s research focuses on the genetic and molecular mechanisms by which normal human cells emerge as cancer cells.


Dr. Lynne Maquat

J. Lowell Orbison Endowed Chair and Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics
University of Rochester

Lynne Maquat is the J. Lowell Orbison Endowed Chair, Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics, Founding Director of the Center for RNA Biology, and Founding Chair of Graduate Women in Science at the University of Rochester, Rochester, NY, USA. After obtaining her PhD in Biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and undertaking post-doctoral work at the McArdle Laboratory for Cancer Research, she joined Roswell Park Cancer Institute before moving her lab to the University of Rochester Medical Center. Her research focuses on normal and disease-associated RNA metabolism, including nonsense-mediated mRNA decay.

Dr. Charles Mullighan

Member, Department of Pathology
St Jude Children’s Research Hospital

Charles Mullighan is a member of the Department of Pathology and Co-Leader of the Hematological Malignancies Program at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. His research uses integrated genomic approaches and experimental modeling to understand the genetic factors driving the pathogenesis and outcome of acute leukemia. His work has identified multiple new subtypes of acute lymphoblastic leukemia and genetic alterations contributing to pathogenesis, several of which have entered the clinic as new diagnostic and therapeutic targets.


Dr. Song Erwei

President, Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hospital
Sun Yat-sen University

Erwei Song is Professor of Breast Surgery at Sun Yat-sen University, National Yangzi River Scholar in China, Distinguished Professor of China Medical Board and Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology (UK). His early publication in Nature Medicine was the first to report that siRNA could be used therapeutically in whole animal disease model, and selected as one of the “Ten breakthroughs of the year 2003” by Science. Currently, he focuses on the microenvironment of malignant tumors and unravels the regulatory mechanisms of non-coding RNAs related to tumor microenvironment.


Dr. Joan Steitz

Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry and Investigator
Yale University and Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Steitz was appointed Assistant Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry at Yale (1970) and full Professor (1978). Her Yale laboratory has been dedicated to studying structures and functions of RNA and of noncoding RNPs, such as those that guide the modification of ribosomal RNAs, microRNAs and several produced by transforming herpesviruses. In 1979, Steitz and her colleagues described a group of cellular particles called small nuclear ribonucleoproteins (snRNPs), a breakthrough in understanding how RNA is spliced.